Last Winter in the Copper Country


1. The Butchers Girl
2. The Perfect Crime
3. Gold and Silver
4. Red Haired Boy
5. Last Winter in the Copper Country
6. Two Step Les Freres Wilson
7. Four Little Men
8. Walt's Waltz
9. Do Somethin'
10. Trouble in Mind
11. The Lodge
12. Dustbowl Overtures
13. (Boom) Klank
14. Over the Waterfall/Mississippi Sawyer
15. On Down the Line

"Combining originals and traditionals, old-time music with zydeco and blues, Michigan's Steppin' In It play some of the liveliest and most rocking acoustic roots music around. On their second release, Last Winter in the Copper Country, they balance hillbilly, Cajun, European folk and blues music with stunning and sensitive musicianship. They also balance the traditionalist's fine touch of artists like David Rawlings and Doc Watson with the innovative playfulness of Béla Fleck and the Flecktones or Lunasa-they make traditional music contemporary without selling its soul in the process. On the melancholic title tune, the classic "Trouble in Mind" and the reeling "Two Step Les Fréres Wilsón," these guys show an amazing dexterity and range as they cover instrumental duties including guitar, banjo, mandolin, harmonica, accordion, steel guitar, dobro, National guitar and even shortwave radio. "
-Performing Songwriter Magazine